[artinfo] Foundation Liedts-Meesen presents Update_4 / New Technological Art Award 2012

adrien török adrien.torok at gmail.com
Fri Aug 31 19:00:26 CEST 2012

Foundation Liedts-Meesen / Zebrastraat

Update_4 / New Technological Art Award 2012
22 September–18 November 2012

ENSAV La Cambre Brussels: 19 September
Zebrastraat Ghent: 20 September
iMAL Brussels: 21 September

Hours: Wed–Sun, 2–6pm


New Technological Art Award 2012 is an international art competition by
the Liedts-Meesen Foundation.

In 2012, the Liedts-Meesen Foundation organizes Update_4 in the
framework of the project Zebrastraat, following the first three Update

Update is a Biennial of interactive installations, coupled with the New
Technological Art Award 2012, an international competition by the
Liedts-Meesen with work from 20 artists, selected by an international
jury from over 300 entries. During Update, work by the winners of the
previous editions, Julien Maire, Nick Ervinck, Julien Gachadoat and Im
Go Eun will also be shown.

The exhibition is substantively broadened with a symposium that will
take place from 15 to 17 November. During three days, artists and
theoreticians are invited to reflect on contemporary art in relation to
new media and technology, both with private and public moments. The
traditional catalog accompanying the Update Award and exhibitions will
be enriched with texts and the proceedings of the discussions in this
colloquium. The ceremonies of the jury award and the public award will
be held on 18 November. The winners will be announced at the end of

Come see the twenty artists who have been nominated:
Ambrioso Marcio, Brazil, 12i; Cantoni Rejane & Crescenti Leonardo,
Brazil, Tunnel; Casas Constanza, Steyaert Pieter & C. Mitchell Mark,
Chile, Belgium, Australia, The Creators; Castro Juan Manuel, Colombia,
Heliotropika; Cirio Paolo & Ludovico Alessandro, Italy, Face to
Facebook; Décosterd Michel & André, Switzerland, Cycloïd- E; Dombis
Pascal, France, Crack; Fischer Ulrich, Switzerland, Walking the
edit; Jacobs Aernoudt, Belgium, Miniatuur; Janssen Wim, Belgium,
Static; Jeong Sion, South Korea,Karat; Jiang Nova, New Zeland,
Ideogenetic machine; Lee HeeWon, South Korea, 108; Levesque Julien,
France, Street Views Patchwork; Luque Sanchez Felix, Spain, Nihil Ex
Nihilo; Oblak Nina & Novak Primoz, Slovenia, Sisyphus Actions;
Schmitt Antoine, France, Pixel noir; Stanza, United Kingdom,
Capacities; Urbonas Julijonas, Lithuania, Euthanasia Coaster

By an international jury:
Françoise Meesen (vice-president of the Liedts-Meesen Foundation), Dirk
De Wit (director BAM,Flemish institute for visual, audiovisual and media
art), Stef Van Bellingen (curator Zebrastraat, founder of VZW Warp,
president of the Canvas Collection Contest), Jean-Marie Dallet (artist,
curator, professor at the EESI (European School of Visual Arts,
Angoulême-Poitiers, France), Yves Bernard (founder of the art
organisation iMAL), Pierre-Yves Desaive (professor at La Cambre, art
critic Flash Art, L'Art Même, art historian KMSKB-MRBAB), Nick Ervinck
(artist, winner of the award of the public Update_2), Julien Maire
(artist, winner of the jury award Update_2)

Presented at three different sites:

Zebrastraat 32/001
9000 Ghent, Belgium

30 Quai des Charbonnages/ Koolmijnenkaai 30
1080 Brussels, Belgium

La Cambre
21 Abbaye de La Cambre
1000 Brussels, Belgium

For more information contact Isolde De Buck: Isolde at zebrastraat.be

More information about the Artinfo mailing list