[artinfo] FW: The Next Documenta Should Be Curated By An Artist

Zoltán László Zoltan.Laszlo at web.de
Tue Jul 8 20:56:49 CEST 2003

e-flux is pleased to present the first installment of:

The Next Documenta Should Be Curated By An Artist
Curated by Jens Hoffmann

at http://www.e-flux.com

What happens if artists take over and occupy territory usually reserved
for curators? What happens if artists are asked to propose a concept for a
large-scale group exhibition and to take control over a prestigious show
such as Documenta? These are some of the questions that The Next Documenta
Should Be Curated By An Artist is trying to investigate. The title of this
project is less a demand than a question. A question that does not
articulate a critique of previous Documenta exhibitions but rather
investigates, in a provocative way, the relationship, which artists have
to the profession of curating.

For this project a diverse group of artists has been invited to reflect
upon the conditions of the relationship between artists and curators. More
importantly, the artists were asked to propose a brief concept of how they
could imagine putting together an exhibition such as Documenta.

Between July and October 2003 around 30 artists’ contributions will be
presented on the e-flux web-site: http://www.e-flux.com. An area for
discussion and comments for the audience of this project will be available
inviting everyone to comment on the overall idea of the project, the
contributions of the artists or even to post their own ideas for a
Documenta. The generated material will be presented in a book published in
collaboration with Revolver press in November/December 2003.

Curated by Jens Hoffmann


Pawel Althamer 
John Baldessari
Ricardo Basbaum
Laura Belém
Daniel Buren
AA Bronson
 Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset
Morgan Fisher 
Liam Gillick 
Natascha Sadr Haghighian
Carl Michael von Hauswolff
Federico Herrero 
Carsten Höller 
Alfredo Jaar 
Joan Jonas
Ken Lum
Dorit Margreiter 
Cildo Mereiles 
John Miller 
Jonathan Monk 
Rivane Neuenschwander
Florian Pumhösl 
Martha Rosler 
Julia Scher 
Markus Schinwald 
Tino Sehgal 
Lawrence Weiner

site design: FDT design, http://www.fdtdesign.com

More information about the Artinfo mailing list